Day: October 9, 2017

Happy 7th birthday, TLYW

We are seven! In fact it was the blog’s birthday a week ago but I’ve been so busy with work, I completely missed it.

Each New Year’s Eve, I do a review of the year on TLYW, but on the blog’s birthday I review the whole period since the blog started. A period which would not have been the same and perhaps could not even have happened without your readership and support! So thank you! Thanks very much indeed for reading along and sharing all my adventures.

By way of a little celebration, here are 7 of my favourite things since the blog started. I wish I had kept it my whole life. I wish blogs had been a thing when I was a child in the 18th century. Anyway. Here are 7 of my very favourite things, in no particular order.

Party in Trenton, New Jersey, 2016. What a TREAT! Thank you so much, Trentoners, for welcoming me while I was there on business from London.

South Africa, 2016. Beautiful. Had my 50th birthday here.

img_1588

Netherlands, 2017. What a lovely country! I would seriously consider living there and keep mentioning it to Harry. I had my 51st birthday here. You are still waiting for photos from this trip; there are plenty of them! Below, a performer on stilts at a fair in Den Bosch.

IMG_4836

Miami, Florida, 2012. The trip of a lifetime. I went to Disney and stayed in one of their most fancy on-site hotels for a week and then I went to Miami Beach, where I stayed in the breathtaking W Hotel. It was the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in and Miami is one of my favourite places in the whole world, due to the impressive Art Deco architecture. What I wouldn’t give to be there right now.

Disney

Universal Studios

W Hotel

Miami Art Deco, with pink police car

corner windows2

Istanbul, Turkey, 2012. Such an amazing place. I took a sight seeing trip on the river.

DSC01099

DSC01117

New Delhi, India, 2012. Sculpture park, as seen below. I wasn’t in India for very long but it was really educational. I’m going back this year.

DSC01002

Egypt and Jordan, 2013. Gave me an enduring love for the Middle East. Become more peaceful, please, because I want to bring my tourist money to your countries.

DSC03201

DSC03392

Not forgetting: France (several times, Paris, Nice); Sweden; Greece; Germany; Switzerland; Belgium; Hungary; Canary Islands; more United States including visiting friends in Michigan, also San Antonio, Texas; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Hong Kong; Shanghai, Beijing, CHILE! And in the UK: visits to Yorkshire to see my good friend C (several times), seeing U-Roy play live at the One Love Reggae Festival (lifetime ambition fulfilled, check), seeing Marc Almond play live in London (check), seeing a whole bunch of operas, ballets and classical music concerts at the Royal Opera House and Royal Festival Hall, London.

It’s been amazing. I hope there’s more to come because these have been the best years of my life.

I must go, business has gone wild and there is no more time for blogging. I will visit 3 countries in the next 4 weeks so there will be a lot of travel photos when we finally get to the end of the year.

Love you! Happy birthday to all of us!

7 bday