Rising Heroes

I continue to be concerned about my health because my heart pounds more than it should. I am ready to take action. It seems urgent.

Health and fitness has always been a major theme of TLYW. I look at the Achievements page which was my main source of motivation for the first few years of TLYW, and over half of the 800 points I managed to score are health related.

It’s time for another concentrated campaign of health and fitness and this time around I feel like I need some encouragement and teamwork from other people instead of doing everything on my own. That’s why I’ve signed up for Rising Heroes, which is a self-improvement and fitness programme for gamers, using video game metaphors. Should be right up my street.

There is a new TLYW page for it here, with links and details of what I’ve been eating and what exercise I’m doing. I’ve done 5.5 hours of walking in the last two days.

I have made a character to level up, she is a scout, a character class that I selected because I like endurance sports. I don’t think I’m particularly strong or fast but I can keep going for a long time. I can swim and walk long distances.

I have joined a squad of rising heroes, a squad is a team of five people, I belong to the Shimmy Hips squad, which is all women.

I also joined a division, a division is a team of 30 people. I belong to the Number One Ninja division.

A nice feature of Rising Heroes is that it encourages you to develop one skill that’s outside of health and fitness, so I picked Chinese. I will be super happy to get that back up and running.

That’s all I have to say right now. I’m a little bit overwhelmed with new information and it is taking me a while to make sense of everything but hopefully the picture will become clear soon. My squad members are really friendly.

Wish me luck. I am heavy right now and I want to lose 30 pounds, lower my blood pressure and make my heart stronger. Hopefully, belonging to a couple of teams will really help.

profile pic

Leave a Reply

