Me and my work ethic.

Bloody hell. I’ve just sat down to slog through some more of the WWC paperwork. I discovered 4 new items that I didn’t know about, so that brings the outstanding total back up to 64.

There’s another guy who is leaving the World’s Worst Company at the same time as me, that is to say, in 2 weeks. Because I am about to start a new batch of paperwork connected to a project that other people have worked on, I just loaded up a few examples of their stuff so I could get a feel for how much other people are writing on these forms. This guy has registered all his forms as complete but they have no content. There is a two-digit number but that’s all he’s written. It takes me up to 15 minutes to do one of these forms because I think about what I am writing. By the simple method of not writing anything, I reckon this guy’s got it down to 2.5 minutes per form, if not less than that.

Once again, I am bewildered at the things that go on in this organisation, I’ve never seen it before. Now what? I guess he has just declined to actually do the task because he is leaving and he doesn’t give a damn. I could do that, couldn’t I. Instead of ending my Xmas holiday five days early and going back to work. But I am not going to do that because I can’t bring myself to do that. I am a professional and I don’t let down our clients, who actually need this commentary I’m supplying. My entire 15 months with this job has been a repetitive experience of watching other people avoid work in innovative ways with my jaw on the ground. Staying in that organisation and successfully becoming part of it would have finished my career. That’s not how you do business, it’s just not. I had to remind myself of that on an almost daily basis.

Right, I’d better get on with it. This paperwork isn’t going to complete itself. I am finally out of the clutches of this desperate organisation at close of business on January 12th.

Leave a Reply

