Boxing Day

Dinner. I cooked Xmas dinner again and got it right this time. I have definitely gained weight over Xmas, like everyone does, and feel like the size of a house. Fortunately, I’m not too bloated as I’ve been eating a lot of vegetables and have not yet done any damage to the Xmas cake or Xmas pudding.

Movie. I watched Where To Invade Next by Michael Moore (2016), a typically lovely, sensitive and compassionate Moore film in which he goes to various countries to see what ideas he can take home to rescue the United States. He goes to Iceland to learn how women pulled the country out of the financial crisis. All the Icelandic banks collapsed in the crisis except for one which was started by two women, where the founding principle of the bank is ‘if we don’t understand it, we don’t sell it’. Common sense aboundeth. He meets female Icelandic business leaders and politicians and they are utterly glowing with common sense and community spirit. He goes to a tiny, unremarkable school in France where little children of six and seven years old are being served gourmet four-course meals for lunch and where lunchtime is regarded as a teaching opportunity. He goes to Slovenia to visit a university and is surprised to meet American students who are there because university education is free. In Italy he meets employers who give their staff 8 weeks of paid holiday every year and say things like ‘what’s the point of being richer, the important thing is human relationships’. In Norway he visits maximum security prisons where the philosophy is that being away from your family is quite enough punishment and the emphasis is on teaching the inmates to be good neighbours to each other, which you do by creating a civilised prison community and showing each other compassion. I became quite moist around the eyes. Britain did not feature on the list of Moore’s exemplary nations. By far the best film I’ve seen so far this Xmas, highly recommended.

where-to-invade-next-1

Dating. We haven’t struck gold yet. Yesterday’s candidate was nice but Santa seems to be sending me a lot of maths and physics geeks this Xmas who are all super-intelligent but short on social skills. If I think about it, I miss the Person who I wasn’t supposed to be in love with, so I don’t think about it. I will meet more people over the next few days.

Gaming. I didn’t really do any yesterday because my date lasted for quite a long time but I dare say I will get started again today. I am sampling everything while I figure out which game I want to make a commitment to for the next few weeks or months.

Happy ongoing Xmas, everybody. I like this period between Xmas and New Year. Everything happens at a slow pace. Once New Year arrives it is time to start thinking about getting back to work. I’m back on the 4th, which isn’t too bad.

Right, I must do a quick burst of housework. See you later.

Leave a Reply

