12 weeks of music.

A couple of days ago I posted pictures of my favourite dresses that I wore through my final, gruelling 12-week season at work. I am impressed with how many clothes I managed to wear, it was like 3 months of London Fashion Week, special extended edition.

Apart from the blatant invitation to dress up every day, another favourite thing about the job was the opportunity to play 5 minutes of music twice a week on a massive sound system. Here are my favourite tunes of those 12 weeks. All of it was there to be interesting and some of it was there to make people sing or dance or be happy. One ordinary Tuesday afternoon, I caused a room of maybe 50 people to form a choir and sing Depeche Mode. It was awesome. It was one of the best things I’ve ever done. Here’s the soundtrack of the last 12 weeks.

#1: The Ikettes: I’m Blue (1962)

#2: Nelly vs. Bee Gees (Lobsterdust Mashup): Stayin Hot

#3 Depeche Mode: Just Can’t Get Enough (1981)

#4: The Beautiful Briny, from Bedknobs & Broomsticks (1971)

#5: Holger Czukay: Perfect World (1987)

#6: Adriano Celentano: Prisencolinensinainciusol (1972)

#7: Jimmy Somerville: (You make me feel) Mighty Real (1989)

#8: Soft Cell: Numbers (1983) 

#9: DJ Pied Piper: Do You Really Like It (2001)

#10: U-Roy ft. Phyllis Dillon: Don’t Stay Away (1970)

#11: Godley and Creme: Cry (1985)

#12: Grace Jones: My Jamaican Guy (1982)

#13: Abba: Dancing Queen (1976)

#14: The Marriage of Figaro: Overture – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

#15: “You Spotted Snakes” from Mendelssohn’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”

Leave a Reply

