Life is a game of management.

  • I manage my time. Ruthlessly and without regard for my own health or comfort. I sure get a lot done. I work 7 days/week, I regularly get up before 5am and I am the most productive person I know.
  • I manage my health, very badly. I have toothache, yet I am still smoking. I just stopped eating instead, like that’s going to make a difference. So on the plus side at least I’m losing weight without really trying. Apparently I think smoking is a more foundational requirement for my survival than food and will ditch food without hesitation or regret if it means I can continue smoking for a bit longer.
  • I manage my emotions. Pretty well, actually. I’m working on developing a psychopathic level of detachment because it helps me cope with my day job. I’ve actually read a couple of books about psychopaths, looking for tips. One book said that psychopaths think of other people as furniture and I have found this very helpful for dealing with my so-called colleagues.
  • I manage my finances. Less said about that, the better. It has been the same story my whole life. I am good at making money. It needs me to be in a happy and confident mood, but given that condition, I can make money without trying too hard. I am not good at conserving it and I’m not good at paying my tax bills on time. I live hard and fast. Money oils the forward trajectory. I watch it coming in, and as long as it keeps arriving I don’t worry about it, even though I should.
  • I manage my house. Just about adequately. I do housework about once a fortnight and as I live alone that’s actually about enough to keep cholera from breaking out.
  • I manage my relationships. I am pleased how well. I am having a pretty happy and functional relationship with the Scandinavian Scientist. As for the Person who I’m not supposed to be in love with, who is a long term project, I venture to say that I have him transfixed. He looks at me and only at me. Long may it continue.
  • I manage my career. It’s an interesting one because as you know I work at the World’s Worst Company as well as running my own business. Life at the WWC is better than it was this time last year but the organisation itself continues to be a total shambles and I am embarrassed by it and the products we sell. My own commercial business is doing great. Every day I consider my options. Every day I consciously evaluate whether spending hours on the premises of the WWC is in my best interests. The jury is still out.

And now, let’s finish on a list of things that are making me happy by decorating my life.

  • Romance. Quite a bit of this. I am surprised. It’s good. It’s cute and fluffy and it puts me in a better mood. I need a bit of frothy romance in my life in the same way that I need speciality coffee.
  • Clothes. An ongoing pleasure. When we get to Xmas I’ll post a picture of my 12 favourite dresses that I wore to work this season, I’ve been wearing some outrageous retro outfits.
  • Because I am a creative genius, albeit a slightly unpredictable one, the WWC lets me try out experimental new things at work. As a result of this, I engineered things so that every week I get a set amount of time of (a) discussing art and (b) opportunities to dance if I feel like it and (c) music with accompanying singing. When I say music, I mainly mean DISCO.

Let’s have some. Get up and dance. This is the single best part of my working week and to be honest the main reason I keep going back there.

Jimmy Somerville: You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)

Leave a Reply

