Church.

I remember this song when it came out back in the 80s, I’ve been listening to Marc Almond on and off all my life. When I first heard this song I was a young teenager and it was rather shocking to me to hear an impassioned description of the active sex life of a mature gay man. Then many years later I grew older and had an active sex life of my own and I was able to read the song as a piece of theatre rather than documentary; Marc Almond is nothing if not theatrical. Then I grew older still and now I wish my sex life was like that instead of being at work all the bloody time. Sing along. Oh god, his beautiful voice.

Soft Cell: Numbers (1983)

 

Leave a Reply

