Like I haven’t got more important things I could be worrying about.

Money of all descriptions. Two full time jobs. Urgent domestic and family affairs that need dealing with. So many important responsibilities with significant real world consequences.

But no. None of this holds my attention. This person with whom I am illicitly and silently in love. There was an incident on Thursday where we stood very close together, not saying anything, trembling, the air thick with tension, and one of us stroked the other one’s arm.

Since then I cannot put it out of my mind and I am thoroughly distracted. Twice I summoned the Head Honcho to take my mind off it and twice he has failed to engage my interest.

Church. I am going out of my mind.

Joan Armatrading: Love and Affection

Leave a Reply

