Monday morning.

I feel like I make major life decisions every day.

It’s Monday morning and I don’t need to be on site at the office this morning so I am at my desk trying to sort out my pile of urgent tasks that is like a Hydra.

Because I can only do so many things in a day, I have to make hard decisions about how to use my time.

  1. HR aspects of day job. The bullying and harassment I experience from my so-called colleagues at Britain’s Worst Company continues to surprise me with its levels of both stupidity and aggression. I almost wonder if it is time for another conversation with HR. Not because I expect them to be able to do anything but because we are dealing with a situation that has legal consequences. I am not going to be bullied into resigning but we may find ourselves in a situation where they fire me and I have to sue them for constructive dismissal, this is my career and finances you are messing with. But all this stuff takes time out of my day.
  2. Actually doing my day job. I love this part of the job but I question the wisdom of investing more hours and energy than I have to given point one. I started there on 1 September. I am on a probationary contract for a year. If they haven’t manufactured a reason to fire me by 1 September 2016 then the terms of my contract will tighten and they will have trouble getting rid of me. It’s now 25 April. They have four months left to try to force me out. I would say the chances of my still being there on 1 September are 50/50. If I’m still there on 1 September then all the aggression and bullying is just hot air. But it doesn’t feel like hot air, it feels like quite a sustained campaign. So we’ll see. In the meantime, I doubt the wisdom of going above and beyond the call of duty for this organisation.
  3. My own business interests. Tax tax and more tax. Proposals.
  4. My own personal affairs, ranging from trivial stuff like drycleaning to the fact that I haven’t seen a dentist in 12 months and I desperately need to sort out my state pension. My own personal stuff comes last every single time and this is why I struggle with things like pensions and mortgages.

Right, I’d better get on with some stuff.

Leave a Reply

