Progress.

This project of completely overhauling my life and finances is certainly keeping me busy. The last week has been very repetitive, I am just at my desk all day and half the evening, doing paperwork and taking care of business as best I can.

Let’s take a look at the big life plan that I drew up in April when I was really starting to feel the urgency of changing my life in important ways. Perhaps we will be able to detect some progress.

plan 01

This crude picture is how I imagine my life. Several months ago I realised that while my life was in way better shape than when I started this blog in 2010, certain areas of it were causing me a lot of pain. Specifically, the red zone on the map, which represents my working life and how I earn my money. It did not make any meaningful connection with my personal ethics, philosophy or raison d’etre, which is represented by the blue zone that you see there. Because of this noticeable incongruence, further problems arose, such as lacklustre business strategy and a relaxed approach to personal spending, because I wasn’t very emotionally attached to the money I was making.

Then a few things in my personal life suddenly went crash, forcing my hand. The following three months were pretty terrifying as I reviewed a lot of options, talked to a couple of hundred business contacts and tried to figure out how re-engineer my career and finances while still paying the mortgage. There were times when it was very scary, I couldn’t eat and I had low levels of confidence in the generosity of the universe.

During this period I wrote most of a book.

Where we are today. The red zone has changed dramatically and consequently the blue zone is bright blue.

  • That Company sent me a contract today. I have a query about clause thirty-something. At least they know I am reading the small print. I think we are almost there. I want to get it signed off, then I can celebrate. This means working in a new sector that is very close to my heart, that I am excited about and that I can serve with real joy and sincerity. I will be a lot busier and have less money but I can do valuable work with a clear conscience.
  • This means the blue zone is finally a real thing. I can do work that I love and feel good about what I earn and who I am. This is so important. I’ve waited for this opportunity for a long time.
  • A new literary agent emailed me about my book, she sounds like she really gets it. I still can’t believe that I had ‘write a book’ on my list of things to do and then I did it and now literary agents talk to me about it.
  • I have a financial adviser now and we have had several conversations about mortgages and pensions EEURGH. I am having a Finance point for that. Look at me being a responsible grown-up.

While I’ve been so busy overhauling my working life, some things have suffered. The yellow zone in the middle needs some urgent attention now. I am gaining weight, I need to get my hair cut again and my teeth are showing the evidence of occasional stress-fuelled lapses into smoking and coffee.

Time to create some activity in the yellow zone. The fitness zone.

I still have mountains of work on my desk so it is going to be difficult, but not impossible.

I will check in here and celebrate when I’ve entered the gym. I’m about ready now. I need to lose some weight and be fit and healthy for the next 12 months of exciting challenges. It’s my birthday next month. I’d like to be in a regular gym habit before then.

Peace, strength, motivation, general mojo to all of you lovely readers, whatever your quest may be. Hang on in there. We will have the lives we want. In the meantime, let’s have a tune.

The Isley Brothers: Who’s That Lady (1973)

Leave a Reply

