In which I continue to do a load of work for no money.

I am very busy for someone who isn’t getting paid.

Book.

One of the agents responded extremely quickly and sent my proposal to a professional reader so that they could compile a report. The report came back within a few hours. The reviewer liked the concept but was less keen on the execution. The agent wants me to rework the proposal. Most of the reader’s criticisms were things that I can recognise as valid and the remaining one just boiled down to their not being in possession of some facts that the proposal could have made more of. So there you go. I understand that being asked to rework and rework manuscripts and proposals is a good thing if you are a hopeful author as it means people are paying attention, they could have just said no. So I’ll just get on with that now, shall I.

Business.

I was in meetings for 3.5 hours today with the Company That Thinks I Am Wonderful, henceforth known as That Company. I was with a very senior dude and we talked for a long time about business models and finance. He said: (a) they do not have the mechanisms in place for the sort of business model that I would think is ideal, however (b) the person at That Company who wants me in their department is, I quote, “desperate” to get me to sign a contract and get me on board and therefore (c) I should feel okay about pressing that person to pay me as much as possible, as it is coming out of their budget. I was grateful for that. I don’t think that what I am asking for is excessive, measured against my value to the business. The senior dude also said some things like ‘don’t let this be a dealbreaker’ and ‘think ahead about the next 3-5 years, not just today’ but I have been to enough job interviews to recognise that as the sort of thing you say to someone when you want them to take their eyes off the money, but the money is important to me. I’m not 25 any more. So now I have to have another long meeting with the first person.

Other Business.

Because That Company is not the only company in the world and there are other companies that I actually own, I now have to spend this evening doing work for the latter, in the hope of raising some of that private sector funding that I can magnetically attract when I’m in the right mood and the wind is blowing in the right direction.

FFS.

One of these things needs to result in cash in my bank account as soon as possible. Being unpaid while on holiday in Spain was one thing, but being unpaid in London while continuing to work day and night is another matter.

5 thoughts on “In which I continue to do a load of work for no money.”

    1. Oh, thank you, how kind. It is an ongoing act of faith. I have to keep going until everything is right. I want everything lined up in the right place – work, money, values, personal development, all of it. I am too old now for compromising.

      1. And the fact that you’re not “over-focusing” is perfect. It’s all about balance, and it seems like you’ve got it 🙂 Now it’s just a matter of continuing to move forward!

        1. Thanks, I am hanging on in there. Sometimes I wonder if I am crazy to make time for the book in the middle of all this as it is hardly an easy cash prize, but the time is right. If you want to get something done, ask a busy person, as the saying goes. Thanks for the support x

Leave a Reply

