Annotated Table of Contents

Done. That was the next big challenge after writing sample chapters.

The Annotated Table Of Contents provides a summary of what’s in each chapter. My ATOC is very detailed and indicates all the content that appears under various headings and sub-headings. It might be too detailed for a publisher, but it is easy enough to trim back for easy and fast reading. I now know every detail of what this book has to say and where all the information appears.

It has a rock-solid structure. I remember this process from when I was writing my doctoral thesis, except that took months instead of days. I have always been a massive believer in structure and this new book has it. It is unbreakable. Nothing is left out. Everything that’s included has a reason and its own place in the information hierarchy.

I will get my friend the editor to look at it and tell me if it is too rich in detail to appeal to a busy publisher.

Not much left to do now. Get on and write the actual proposal, this being the least difficult part. It’s not like I am unfamiliar with writing business proposals. You write about your credentials, the anticipated audience, why there’s a niche in the market, what’s going to be the marketing plan, and so on.

More news as it develops. I am pushing this so hard now because I want it off my desk so I can get back to pursuing business opportunities that might raise some urgently-needed funds more quickly.

I can totally do this. I just produced a detailed 4,000-word summary of a 60,000-word book in about two and a half days.

Leave a Reply

