This fucking book.

Thank goodness for bank holiday weekends, they are like a cheat code.

Yesterday I took the whole day to rest. Today … I worked on my book. I have a chapter outline. I have a sample chapter almost completed that took hardly any time to organise because I have all the raw material. It was so quick that I might be able to write a second sample chapter before I complete the proposal. When the proposal and sample(s) are done, they are shopped around to publishers.

I am in conversation with an editor, she has held senior positions with Proper Publishing Companies that exist in real life. She has been on at me about this book for ages, I protested that I was too busy with work, then I suddenly crumbled and now I am organising all my stuff into a manuscript, as you see above, and she and I are talking seriously for the first time.

She said: “This is exciting. You have a unique voice and I can see you being wildly successful.” I don’t know. I am writing it now, anyway. If it actually finds a home with a publisher and we can generate some publicity for it, it would take my career in a different direction. One that would be a lot of fun.

Tomorrow, business as usual, and hopefully I’ll be slightly ahead of the game when everyone else gets back to their desks on Tuesday. Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “This fucking book.”

    1. I have to do this now. It’s not that much work to get a proposal out, I already write enough similar proposals for work purposes. If I wait until I get a job and then suddenly publish a book on an unrelated subject, with attendant marketing responsibilities, employers might not be very pleased. So I think I need to get this proposal out right now. Now is the time. If I delay, then it will be my fault that it didn’t happen.

Leave a Reply

