Remembering to Relax

It is hard to relax but it is also necessary, to keep one’s strength up.

I was cheered when I read in the social science literature on resilience that people who bounce back are also people who allow themselves to experience positive emotions in small ways even as disasters are unfolding. It gave me permission to not worry all of the time.

I need to relax for a couple of hours this evening, for my own mental strength and health. As I cannot do anything like watching films without fretting, I am going to work on my book proposal for a couple of hours, pertaining to this book that I’ve stupidly written when I should have been concentrating on my day job. The book makes me happy. Right now is a bit of a life crisis but is also my big chance to change my career. So that’s why the book proposal is a relaxing activity that I can stand.

Leave a Reply

