Swim.

Did a day’s work. Worked productively. Fulfilled obligations to other people. Worked on the red and blue zones of the life plan. By 7pm I was very tired and I wanted to go to sleep, also the lower back pain that I occasionally get was hitting me with a vengeance. But I was aware that I had not yet done any yellow zone activities, which is about the health of my internal organs. So I limped to the gym, got in the pool and swam 30 lengths, which is enough to earn a Health point. Drank a protein shake while walking home and then shovelled a couple of handfuls of fresh fruit into my mouth while standing in the kitchen.

Now I really am exhausted and I need to lie down. 1 Health point. I swear I will get travel photos to you as soon as I have the strength. I can see that I am going to need a daily routine and also that I need to start going to the gym in the mornings because it is the only part of the day where the pool only includes people who want to actually swim, ie not children or people who think it’s fun to use the pool to stroll about chatting when clearly that is why God invented shopping malls.

Discipline: doing things you would rather not do at that moment, but which are good for you.

5 thoughts on “Swim.”

  1. I love your definition of discipline! It reminds me of Eric Thomas’ definition of success: “Success is the ability, at any moment, to give up who you are for what you will become.” Gives me goosebumps.

Leave a Reply

