Fat Girl Spring Fashions: Business Edition

I am so fat. I am huge. The scales said 163.4 pounds this morning but I am especially bloated right now because breakfast/lunch included bread, so I look pregnant.

I only have one meeting in Zurich but I have to look smart and I have outgrown all the clothes I have that are less than 10 years old. So while I was out and about in London this morning, attending meetings near Piccadilly, I had to go and buy clothes that are acceptable for business, are pretty, flattering, and fit me, because we are having a lot of client meetings at the moment. It kills me to admit that I am currently wearing a UK size 14/16. I had to buy a size 16 skirt, I could weep. To think that I own size 10 bikinis. On the positive side, the skirt is really flattering and usefully hides my fat gut, also Leroy doesn’t mind if I’m fat and even the Honcho doesn’t mind. I occasionally send him pictures of my tits, clothed of course, to draw his attention to how huge they are and implicitly point out that being a fat chick has significant advantages.

Anyway, so here’s what I ended up with.

This dress from Banana Republic was my best buy, and is what I am wearing to the Zurich meeting, probably with a navy cardigan. I am going to be wearing a size 14 and was amazed that it fit me, after the skirt experience. This is a great dress, it is so flattering, is made of sturdy material that hides the unsatisfying contours of my round tummy and gives me a waist. It even has useful pockets. It is great. Pretty but not too sexy. Not flimsy. Can be worn with either shoes or boots, I am wearing my tan knee-length boots.

floral dress

This is the skirt I was talking about, it is by Cath Kidston, I don’t really love her textile patterns as much as I could, but I do like this skirt. Again, it is sturdy material, it has structure, it is well cut. It gives me a waist and hides my bulgy bits. Has pockets. Can be worn with a white or navy blouse to smarten it up for a meeting. I am just going to cut the size label out of it.

floral skirt

Yellow is one of my very favourite colours and is in vogue this spring. I must draw your attention to this fabulous vintage-inspired coat by Marks and Spencer. It is on sale right now for half price. I have needed a spring/summer coat for a few years, since a white mac that I had several years ago met a sad end. I have a sturdy, full-length black winter coat that has lasted for at least a decade and I hope will last for a few more, but since my white mac died, in the spring and summer I have been wearing a short navy wool jacket that only covers my top half and is starting to look a bit ratty and felted from over-use. So that’s why I’m going to appear in Zurich in that blue dress that you see above and this retro wool-mix coat in a yellow that is about the same colour as lemon sherbert. I have it in a UK 14, and M&S sizing is generous enough for it to fit me in this size even though you should normally get outer garments in a size up to allow for knitwear, layers, etc.

yellow coat

American Apparel – I bought a very boring and sensible work dress in a dark check that I am not even going to describe, they kept me waiting for aaaaages at the till while somebody who was price checking was being incompetent, and then when I finally got served, the girl pointed out to me that she was putting an extra small parcel in my bag. I was doing stuff on my phone at that moment and nodded my thanks without knowing what it was. I’ve just opened it and she gave me three nail polishes. One pink, one glitter and one that is the blue of my new dress. Happy! Way to look after your customers. It is hard to capture the exact colours because we are running out of daylight here, but just take my word for it. The pink is really lighter and brighter than that, as is the blue, which is the same shade as the blue on that floral dress.

nail polish

It was a nice, sunny day again today. Here are a few photos from my runnings around London over the last couple of days.

picc

The Ritz.

the ritz

Gorgeous and VERY fancy 17th century Italian skin care company. Established 1620. Ultra premium. The girl in the pink and blue check on the left was smoking and talking on her phone in French.

novella

Let’s take a closer look in the window.

Soap. Now that is what I call soap. Probably made from the wings of angels.

soap

Rose water.

rose water

Market outside St James’s Church.

market

market ceramics

Glass jewellery.

glass bangles

Because I’ve been on tubes and buses a lot, I’ve managed to finish reading another book; Dolly, by Susan Hill, 2012. It is a ghost story. It made a very interesting change from the sort of thing I usually read. It is about two children and two dolls that age horribly, in the style of Dorian Gray. It seems that both children, later adults, are being punished, but one of them hasn’t done anything wrong so I don’t know. Anyway, it was quite atmospheric and earned me 1 Books point.

Right, I need to go. Am on a schedule here. Busy busy.

2 thoughts on “Fat Girl Spring Fashions: Business Edition”

Leave a Reply

