Midnight: Mac and Cheese

I am so glad I did Christmas stuff when I had the chance because work has gone crazy now. You can tell it is serious business because Friday night is about to turn into Saturday morning, and I am still writing long, businessy documents, which is what I have been doing all day.

I am bored and restless. Leroy hasn’t called to say he is coming over this weekend and therefore I have stopped caring about the area that used to be my waistline. That’s why I just went to the kitchen and cooked home-made mac and cheese for the very first time in my whole life. I am not even joking. I just made a cheese sauce from scratch, properly, the kind where you weigh out butter and flour and cook them in a pan to make a ‘roux’ (a whatnow?), then carefully add milk and cream, then only add the cheese at the end. I don’t know if I did it exactly how you’re supposed to, but I certainly TRIED, using this recipe from the good old BBC. I am so impressed with myself! I am eating it now, served with crudely chopped red onion and a handful of watercress stuffed down the side. It is YUMMERS.

mac and cheese

Here at TLYW we don’t exactly collect standard Achievement Points for cooking, but we ARE working on the Chef Badge as part of the Brownie Points themed season, and I get a Chef Badge credit for learning to make a new meal. So hooray for that! I am going to update the Brownie Points page right now because I can afford to take a few minutes for that while I am eating. I am going to be up all night working anyway.

Leave a Reply

