Kitchen Storage: In which I no longer need sleep and become slightly obsessed.

OK, so I put in a full day of work and that went amazingly well considering I’d only had about 3.5 hours of sleep in the last 24 hours, and even that was spread out over two sessions.

I thought I would be ready to collapse into bed at about 5pm but astonishingly I was driven by a burning zeal for more Home Improvements, so here’s what I did.

I went to Homebase again and purchased two sets of drawers. They weigh 9.5 kilos each. The reason this is relevant is because I paid for them both, walked home carrying one of them in my arms, dumped it at my flat, walked back to Homebase and then carried the second one home. Then I arranged them in my kitchen, as you see here. They are stacked on top of each other in a way that they were totally not designed for but I don’t care. It will be fine. They’re not going to fall over unless someone gets horribly drunk and lurches into them, and I don’t drink that much.

kitchen shelves

The difference this made to my ability to put things away in the kitchen was amazing. Those drawers now contain: plastic reclosable bags, collection of, different sizes; tablecloths and napkins; recipe leaflets and magazines; all of my baking materials, from ingredients to silicone bakeware. As you can see, I’ve also found room in between and on top of the sets of drawers for: 4 tea trays; kitchen scales; cookbooks; cake tins. The effect this had on the rest of the kitchen was miraculous. I was able to clear off an entire unit of valuable counter space, then I cleaned out the other kitchen drawers (3 of these, rather smaller) and they now contain foil, cling film, greaseproof paper, freezer bags, and all my other utensils such as the hand blender, the widget for measuring cocktail ingredients, chopsticks, serving spoons, wooden spoons, etc etc, without any problem. It is like magic.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that when you bring one new thing into a room it makes everything else look shit. In this case, the whiter than white painted wood of these sets of drawers caused me to realise that the whole kitchen needs repainting: walls, woodwork and floor, that the tiles around the newly cleared counter space were dirty and that I had neglected to scrub the outside of the kitchen cupboards when I was doing the insides last night. So here’s what I did.

– I can’t repaint the whole kitchen right now, although I MIGHT attempt to do the floor tomorrow, but what I did do was get out a can of white paint and touch up the wall where dirty finger marks had accumulated around the light fitting. Then while I had the paint out I went and touched up the light fittings in the living room and bedroom as well.

– I scrubbed the outsides of the kitchen cupboards.

– I scrubbed the newly exposed tiles with the super corrosive tile cleaner that I found in the utility room and got some of it on my finger, so I have a blister now. But the tiles are clean.

– Then I went to the spare room at the back which is going to be my craft room and cleverly made about 20 cardboard boxes disappear, including some very large ones like the packaging that comes off monitors.

– Then I organised my cleaning materials and spare lightbulbs into new boxes and put them away tidily in the utility room.

– Then I realised the utility room was a mess so I divested it of: plastic bags; old coat hangers; a horrible old duvet from the 19th century; a piece of timber that looks horrifyingly like it was once part of the structure of this house, not that there seem to be any big chunks of house missing.

– Then I got rid of the packaging that the kitchen drawers came in.

– Then I did some laundry.

– Then I went back in the living room and hung up reindeer bunting, because the Christmas decorating has risen to new levels of craziness. I can’t stop myself. It’s like a drug. My brain is fried because of lack of sleep and all I want to do is Home Improvements followed by excessive Christmas Decorating.

reindeer

I could honestly keep going all night because I am on a roll, but I don’t think I should. It’s nearly 2am and I have work again tomorrow. I think I should go to bed. Btw, do you like my hand-knitted tea cosies? World of Warcrafters will recognise that one on the far left as bearing the mighty Horde logo. Lok’tar Ogar! Serve the Horde or be crushed beneath it!

1 Home point.

… all right, I might just go and put some superglue on those sets of drawers to hold them together. I don’t think I can resist. I know where the superglue is. I’ll just quickly do it now. THEN I’ll go to bed.

5 thoughts on “Kitchen Storage: In which I no longer need sleep and become slightly obsessed.”

  1. You’re putting us all to shame G. I’m going to have to do some major cleaning and decluttering today myself.
    I bet your flat has NEVER looked this good 😀

  2. I thought I was the only one who did stuff like this and I blame it on my mood disorder(when I’m up, I can get a lot done in a short time)!. Hey, you better get some sleep or you’ll get run down and then a coldsore will appear on your lip and ruin Christmas. Sleep. Please.
    Skinny Jeans Mum

    1. 🙂 I stayed up for another two hours in the end, moving office supplies and work stuff out of my craft room and putting it away in more appropriate locations. THEN I went to bed. I will go to bed on time tonight, I promise.

Leave a Reply

