13 people, plus me makes 14.

As of just now, 13 people have reached out to someone homeless because I said that’s what I wanted for Christmas. None of these people know me in real life: they are effectively strangers. But they put up with me all year in an online community that I frequent and someone liked me enough to offer me a present, and when I said I wanted something to go to a homeless person, a whole bunch of them jumped in. People have donated food, money and warm clothes. I’m overcome with gratitude. People have such big hearts. I’m so thankful to all of them.

The Brits are donating to Shelter. My American cousins are donating to the National Alliance to End Homelessness. Those with no money are taking warm second-hand clothes to shelters for homeless people. Those with a little money and no car to get to a shelter are taking hot drinks and food directly to people on the streets. I can’t tell you how much it means to me. It is the best set of Christmas presents I’ve ever had. I would have been grateful for one present. Thirteen takes my breath away.

Leave a Reply

