Hooray, I am getting a day off sick, with bonus Classic Literature.

I have to do one phone meeting at 11am, then I am off work on sick leave for the rest of the day. Yay! This is good as I am in a horrible condition.

I am going to go back to bed and spend the day attempting to read a book, because I have started working towards the Classic Literature badge.

I have arbitrarily decided that to win the Classic Literature badge I have to read 5 novels that are generally agreed to be Classic and that I would normally regard as too much work.

I have started reading The Crying of Lot 49, by Thomas Pynchon, also Moby Dick by Herman Melville, which I tried and failed to read a couple of years ago. This time I am going to read it properly and finish it.

I am not sure what the other three titles are going to be, but I am strongly considering The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky and The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, by Laurence Sterne. These are not firm decisions, though. I reserve the right to change my mind if I think of things that I want to read more urgently.

It is fish for dinner again this evening, Satan help me. I have to cook fish two nights in a row. Perhaps I will be in the mood for it after a few hours of Moby Dick.

moby dick

Leave a Reply

