Coins.

I went to visit my brother, his girlfriend and their baby today, earning 1 Friends point. They live in another city, I’ve been trying to get to see them for 3 months and have struggled with health issues, so that was a genuine achievement. The baby is lovely and is a right chubber.

In other news, there are some things that I want that I can’t let myself buy because the impeding financial doom of roof plus windows is striking fear into my soul. I am overspent, overstretched and over-committed financially. This does not stop me going to my Amazon wishlist a couple of times a day and looking at some items which I absolutely do not need, by any stretch of the imagination. They are basically just toys. About £50 worth, in total. It’s not a huge amount of money, but they are totally needless toys. Like I don’t have enough toys already. I have plenty of toys and no time to play with them and no savings, or at least I soon won’t have, because I sunk more than half into my mortgage and the other half is for household repairs.

This evening it occurred to me that, like many households, I have a collection of small-denomination coins in a bowl, a lot of 1p, 2p and 5p coins that are too small to spend. Last time I sorted some of the contents of that bowl into those special plastic bags and took them to the bank, they gave me back £26 in real money. That was a good long time ago, at least a couple of years ago, I am not sure how many years. The bowl is full, I know that much. So that’s what I’m doing for the next couple of hours. I’m going to put on a relaxing video and bag up coins until I get to £50, or until I run out of coins, whichever comes first. If I get to £50 then I can justify the shopping. Probably. These fucking household repairs are freaking me out. The unspecified nature of it is doing my head in.

Leave a Reply

