Santiago de Chile, part 3: Centro Artesanal Los Dominicos

Finally. I am awake and not crying or having my house destroyed and therefore I can show you something absolutely lovely.

201

Centro Artesanal Los Dominicos is an art centre in the Los Dominicos area of Santiago and consists of 150 small stores which are dedicated to native Chilean arts and crafts. If you are in Santiago, you can go there. It’s easy to get to on the Metro and it’s open all year round, Tuesday through Sunday. Let me show you how absolutely gorgeous it is.

The sun shone and these beautiful rustic buildings made me want to move into one of them and not go home.

132

Yarn. Oh god, the yarn. Crochet and knitting are really big in Chile. The yarn you see here is hand-dyed and hand-spun. Those two cakes of sunshine yellow yarn are mine now and I am crocheting a scarf.

135

Another adorable yarn shop. I had hand-spun wool from here too, about two kilos of it.

163

161

156

155

154

151

When I managed to tear myself away from the wool shop, this man was playing the harp absolutely beautifully and selling CDs of his music.

165

Paintings.

143

142

144

147

146

149

More woollen clothing. Naturally, I didn’t need to buy any of these since I can make them myself.

167

168

Wooden chests, boxes and furniture.

173

172

For no apparent reason, a bird house with chickens and two peacocks.

175

177

178

Ceramics

179

183

Look at these absolutely gorgeous dishes. They are decorated with real pressed fruit under a layer of glaze. Just like pressed flowers. I didn’t know you could press fruit but there you go.

185

An entire bunch of grapes! Isn’t that amazing.

187

Plants. Is that called a nursery? I think so.

189

191

Rugs.

192

That basket includes hand-made knitting needles and crochet hooks. I brought a crochet hook home with me.

193

Leather and silver jewellery.

195

A little shop that sells beautiful, hand-made wooden toys, including this delightful mobile.

200

Garden decorations.

203

Isn’t that just wonderful. I didn’t want to leave. I wanted to stay there for ever.

212

 

2 thoughts on “Santiago de Chile, part 3: Centro Artesanal Los Dominicos”

Leave a Reply

