Happy Valentines.

Happy Valentine’s Day, readers.

Well, things have been a bit upside-down this week. A lot of work landed on my desk. This weekend and next week are going to be very busy as well. There is so much travel, frighteningly soon and that means there is a great deal to do before I start getting on planes.

I do not have time to feel very sorry for myself on the relationship front, and nor should I. I miss the Honcho a tiny little bit but he has nothing to give me but merciless teasing and I have finally accepted that and stopped hoping that he will ever find himself less emotionally bankrupt. At the same time, if I wanted Valentines Day things, all I needed to do was hang on to Disraeli and he would have spent weeks crafting a hand-made card and gift. So fuck it. I don’t need it.

Diet and slimming, the situation is a bit scary. I’ve barely left my desk at all this week. I’ve either been working or sleeping. There has been no gym for about three or four days. During this time my weight has fluctuated dramatically and alarmingly. Right now the scales think I’ve gained four pounds, which isn’t physiologically possible for it all to be fat and anyway I hardly ate a thing for two days because there was no food in the house and I didn’t have time to go out and buy any. I was living on the tail end of some yogurt that I found in the back of the fridge and a bag of nuts and seeds that was in the cupboard and that I’d previously rejected as boring. So I don’t know what the fuck is going on there. How can I be four pounds heavier in four days, it makes no sense. I am going to try and reinstate my gym routine as a matter of priority and then we’ll see.

So that is where we are up to. And I’ve suddenly realised that it’s Friday, it’s getting dark, it’s Friday evening, officially the start of the weekend. And even though I have work to do all weekend, there is no particularly good reason why I can’t go to the gym tonight. So that’s me. Going to the gym on a Friday night for the fifth or sixth time in a row, and on Valentine’s Day as well, when other people are being given presents and taken out to romantic restaurants for dinner. I wonder if the Honcho is taking someone out to dinner. Probably better if I don’t think about it.

Leave a Reply

