Red lipstick.

I was in my local cafe where I go all the time, getting some lunch. I decided to eat in and a new waitress came over to take my order. A petite little Eastern European girl, probably about 17 or 18. She took the order and I was fascinated by her delicate features. She looked like a mediaeval religious painting. “Oh, you’re so beautiful”, I said, because I am outspoken like that. “Do all the customers tell you so?” She looked embarrassed and hurried away to get the coffee and I wondered if I shouldn’t have said anything to her. I didn’t mean to embarrass her.

But when she came back later to take my plate away and when I was paying at the till, she’d done something different with her hair and she was still shy but she was full of smiles and was suddenly wearing red lipstick.

5 thoughts on “Red lipstick.”

Leave a Reply

