Swimming Lesson

I have collected 4 Health points over the last couple of days. Two 10-mile walks, 1 weights session and 1 swimming lesson followed by post-lesson practice. The dreaded swimming lesson.

  • It was OK. My instructor is a nice, friendly woman and not some hot guy who I have to feel embarrassed when I am standing there with water streaming out of my nose.
  • I didn’t choke or drown.
  • We are going to work on my breaststroke (stop laughing) because it’s the one stroke I kind of know how to do.
  • It is going to take a lot of practice for me to get my arms, legs and breathing all co-ordinated with each other.
  • And that means a regular commitment to swimming. Bloody hell. I always take on these things without worrying about how much time it is going to use up. If I want to improve, I will need to swim at least on alternate days, just the same as when you are learning to run, just the same as weight training. Once or twice a week is not going to cut it.

I think this means I am safe from hair extensions and spray tan for a while.

.

Saint-Saëns: The Carnival of the Animals: The Aquarium (1886)

Leave a Reply

