Carbicide

It must be the weather. No sooner has London’s usual cold and rain hit me than I am overtaken by a raging hunger for carbs. The last two days have been out of control from a dietary perspective. I was suddenly absolutely desperate for chocolate and crisps, things for which I do not care too much in a hot climate.

I think I have it reined back in now. I just went to the supermarket to buy all the foods that comprised my diet in Jordan, or as close as I could get. Here are the details. This is a diet that has worked for me over the last 2 weeks even though there are surprising amounts of bread and cheese in there. I think the key thing has been portion control and eating only at set times.

Gloria Startover’s Holiday Diet

Breakfast (9am): large fruit salad, eg a mix of grapefruit, oranges, pineapple, prunes, figs, cherries, whatever you can get your hands on (the figs in Jordan were delicious, so soft and sweet, so nice at breakfast time). Plain set yogurt or Greek-style yogurt. Coffee, as in real, ground coffee, 1 small cup of. Water.

Lunch (2pm): a couple of miniature rolls of the brownest, darkest bread you can find. Make meat salad sandwiches with beef or chicken and some kind of green, leafy vegetation. Careful with the portion size, you want dainty little sandwiches, not hulking great burgers. Big glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. Water. Coffee if desired (and who wouldn’t).

Dinner (7pm): a tiny serving of meat or fish with a bit of green salad on the side. A miniature brown bread roll with butter and a generous wedge of Brie. Grapes. Water. Have dessert such as chocolate cake or whatever if you want, but it can only be at dinner and it can only be about one-quarter of the size of a pack of cigarettes.

______________________________

I really enjoyed the above diet very much while I was away and it was super convenient knowing when, what and how much I was going to eat. I have childishly resisted meal planning for a long time but here it looks like we might have stumbled upon a meal plan that I actually want to do.

I went out for my 10-mile walk today, full of contrition about the shocking state of my diet on Thursday and Friday. I am hoping my daily walks will mitigate some of the dietary crimes I’ve committed over the last couple of days. I also talked to the gym about upgrading my membership. We haven’t finalised the details yet but I’m feeling like I need to spend more time there. I need to start going every day. A huge, massive effort is required if I’m going to get these last few pounds off and finally achieve the holy grail of a good set of abs.

1 Health point.

2 thoughts on “Carbicide”

Leave a Reply

