Fat and despondent.

I dared to get on the scales and now I’m unhappy because I’ve gained THREE POUNDS since LAST WEEK. I knew I wasn’t just imagining it. I can’t even bring myself to write it on the little ticker chart, it will look like I did nothing but eat 18 bags of doughnuts.

A week or so ago I was starting to feel slim, that didn’t last long.  I appreciate that some of it is muscle, I can see I’ve grown visible, bulky muscle in my legs, some in my biceps already and my arse feels firmer even if it doesn’t look that much different. So that is all fine. Also, even though I had a couple of days this week that were a bit carb-tastic, I’ve been burning off 500-700 calories every single day in exercise so I can’t possibly have gained three pounds of fat, it’s not like I’ve been sitting around. I was outdoors for four hours yesterday. But readers, all I have ever wanted, the sole point of this endeavour, is to lose my belly, get a flat, hard set of abs and drop a dress size. And right now my size and shape is hurtling in completely the wrong direction for dropping a dress size and my midsection still looks fat, and if anything fatter than a week ago. Maybe the muscles in my torso are getting bigger as well.

I don’t know what to do but hang on in there. Start dieting strictly instead of eating pieces of Brie. Keep exercising even if it packs on more muscle. It is an act of faith at this point because it seems unreasonable to me that a person can walk 40 miles in a week as well as regularly going to the gym and end up three pounds and one thick waist bigger than when they started, when the point was to lose excess flab. It’s rubbish.

I was googling the problem last night and apparently it’s quite a common phenomenon. Somebody with more knowledge of weight training than I have said this:

Yes, when you first start lifting, you will feel heavier, you will probably gain a few pounds, but it really is your muscles response to the new stress, and you are holding water. You might also gain inches due to water retention. This discourages ALOT of newbies, and they give up. It’s really too bad, because if you can just stick it out for 2 or 3 months, you will see a big difference.

2 thoughts on “Fat and despondent.”

  1. I heard about a young lady that hiked the Appalachian Trail #1 carry nothing you don’t need- coffee mug or food.
    My buddy dropped 40# giving up two big burgers late every eve. and safe trained rock climb at the gym 2+ times a week

Leave a Reply

