Out power-walking again.

Two hours and 20 minutes today. It will be good when I regain the level of fitness where I can run for 45 minutes or an hour because then that will cut down the amount of time I need to spend exercising to realistic and sustainable levels. I think it’s clear that I’m not going to be able to keep up this level of investment on a daily basis for ever. By the time you’ve changed, showered and eaten something you’re looking at three and a half hours, which is a massive chunk of time out of the day for someone with a full time job.

Happily, I am, as you know, incredibly single-minded by nature so for the time being it is not troubling me that I am not doing anything but exercise. It’s too damn hot and sticky to even want to do anything else. Chinese has stalled because I am too hot and sweaty to pore over books. It is way too hot for knitting. Too hot for video games. Too hot to do anything but work, nap and go back outside for more exercise. I am actually impressed with myself that I managed to do a load of laundry this evening.

Today after my big walk I came home and ate several pieces of fudge which was a bit stupid of me, but I am going to forgive myself. The important thing is to stop yourself and get back on the wagon.

Back to the gym tomorrow for more weights.

Leave a Reply

