Must read all the things.

There’s been a shocking lack of news over the last few days, hasn’t there. It is like this. After that burst of point-scoring ten days ago, I had a period of several days where I was dealing with a few different sources of stress, the details of which I will not bore you with. The result was a tension headache that simply would not go away. I don’t think I’ve listened to a single tune since the last time I posted one here and you know there’s something not right when I’m not listening to any music. I’ve spent most of my non-work hours lying down, either sleeping or just trying to take the weight off the tense muscles in my neck. Was not fun.

However, I have been doing a lot of reading. Since we last spoke about books, just a few days ago, I’ve read Injury Time by Beryl Bainbridge (this was funny but also grim and the state of gender relations in 1977 in Britain was appalling, the characters casually talk about men hitting their wives and girlfriends like it’s no big deal yet meanwhile it’s regarded as terribly SHOCKING that one of the men once went to what they prissily call ‘a VD clinic’, presumably in a responsible effort to take care of his health. Priorities, people.) I also read The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. It’s an amusing, contemporary comedy with a hero who’s somewhere on the autism spectrum and is only vaguely aware of it. I’m about halfway through Ben Goldacre’s Bad Pharma, about pharmaceutical research. It’s riveting and I’ll most likely blog about it when I’ve finished. Today I would be well advised to spend some time cleaning my house but instead I’m going to knit a bunch of things and read something new.

This weekend I am sporting the podgy waistline of someone who reads a lot. I’ll claim a books point in due course.

Leave a Reply

